ASME Technical Paper Publication

A recently came back from the 2015 ASME Intentional Design Engineering Technical Conference after presenting a paper I authored in the Emerging Topics in Micro and Nano Systems session of the conference.

I had the opportunity my senior year to take a course in microelectromechncial systems, MEMS.  In this class we were required to perform a literature survey, identify a device, and make one small improvement to that device.  I was immediately drawn to a class of MEMS used as RF switch.  In this paper I identified barriers to the commercialization of such devices and proceeded to model and propose a novel change to improve the performance of the device.

My professor urged me to submit the paper to the 2015 ASME IDETC conference.   This was a great idea as my paper was accepted to the conference as a full Technical Paper.  Although I graduated in May my alma-mater, LMU, graciously sent me to the conference to present my work.  It is now published in the proceedings of the conference.  A link to the paper can be found here: DETC2015-48101
I can be found on page 201 of the conference program:  ASME 2015 AM3D-IDETC-CIE Program
The title of the paper being “REDUCING STRESS CONCENTRATION IN RF MEMS SWITCH BY OPTIMIZING SERPETINE SPRING DESIGN”

The below pictures are of the finite element analysis found in the paper.   The stress concentrations and stiffness of the RF MEMS structure were determined using an FEA study performed via ComSol Multi Physics.
 4 No fillet stressDistributed stress 1

Leave a Reply

